All posts from ,

NSP UGC Post Graduate Merit Scholarship For University Rank Holders 2019-20

Organisation : University Grants Commission, MHRD
Portal Name : National Scholarship Portal
Scholarship Name : Post Graduate Merit Scholarship For University Rank Holders 2019-20
Applicable For : Ist and IInd Rank Holders
Application Last Date : 31.01.2020 (Date is Extended)
Website/Apply Online :

Sponsored Links:

NSP UGC PG Merit Scholarship

Applications are invited for Post Graduate Merit Scholarship For University Rank Holder for year 2019-20.


The objectives of the scheme are
** To promote and nurture talent;
** To reward meritorious students with outstanding performance at the Under graduate level for pursuing postgraduate studies;

** To promote study in basic courses at undergraduate level. Professional courses are not covered under the scheme;
** To build up academic excellence at postgraduate level across the colleges and universities in the country

Who Can Apply?

** The scholarship is available to the student for first PG Degree only. Age limit for the students is 30 years at the time of admission in PG course.
** Distance mode of education will not be considered under the scheme.

** The Undergraduate courses from following streams have been identified for the award of scholarships
1.Life Sciences
2. Physical Sciences
3. Chemical Sciences
4. Earth Sciences
5. Mathematical Sciences
6. Social Sciences
7. Commerce
8. Languages

** The first and second rank holders (Not position holders) would be considered from Universities/ Institutions and non-affiliated/ autonomous colleges according to the number of students who have appeared in the examination at undergraduate level as per following table.

Nature of Institution Number of students who appeared in examination at undergraduate level
Affiliating Universities (State/ Central) 100
Deemed Universities/ Private Universities / Autonomous Colleges / Non-affiliated



How to Apply?

Just follow the below steps to apply for the PG Scholarship For University Rank Holders 2019-20.

Steps :
Step 1 : Go to the official website of National Scholarship Portal through the URL provided above.

Step 2 : Then Select UGC Schemes tab and Click on University Grants Commission – MHRD in the drop down list.
Step 3 : After that Click Apply link in the “PG Scholarship For University Rank Holders”.

Step 4 : It will redirect to the Login Page. Enter your Application Id, Password and Captcha for Login.

Step 5 : After Login to your account select the Scholarship scheme and fill the required details to apply for the scholarship.

Step 6 : If you are a New User then Click on the Register link in the Login Page.

Step 7 : Enter all required details for registration to get your user id and password. After register your account you can Login and apply the scholarship.


** Scholarship granted under the scheme will be kept renewed during the period of postgraduate course subject to good conduct and maintenance of prescribed attendance.

** The scholarship will be renewed for the next year of study on receipt of an annual progress report to be granted by the administrative head of the University/ Institution/ College.(E.g. Registrar of a University/ Director of the Institution/ Principal of the College or any other officer designated by them).

Guidelines :

Documents To Be Submitted

** Attested copy of university undergraduate-degree.
** Matriculation certificate.
** A verification certificate by the institute where, students has taken admission to Ist Year P.G. Course.
** Prescribed format of provisional Rank certificate from the university / autonomous college

Amount Of Fellowship

Rs.3,100/- p.m for a period of two years only i.e. full duration of a PG course. No other additional grant will be payable in lieu of hostel charges and medical charges etc.

The student who is awarded Post-Graduate Scholarship for University Rank Holders will not be debarred from accepting any other scholarships.

Cancellation Of Scholarship

Scholarship of a student may be cancelled in any of the following cases
** Misconduct of the awardee, if any, reported by the University/ Institution.
** Unsatisfactory progress report (i.e. if the candidate scores less than 60% marks in the first year of Master’s programme)

Important Dates

** PG Scholarship For University Rank Holders is Open till 31-01-2020
** Defective Verification – Open till 14-02-2020
** Institute Verification – Open till 14-02-2020

Leave a Reply

How to add comment : 1) Type your comment below. 2) Type your name. 3) Post comment. © 2021

Contact Us   Privacy Policy   SiteMap