You are here: Home > Odisha
All posts from NMMS National Means-Cum-Merit Scholarship Exam 2018-19 : SCERT Odisha

Organization : Odisha Directorate of Teacher Education & SCERT
Exam Name : NMMS 2018-19 National Means-Cum-Merit Scholarship Examination
Applicable For : Students Studying in Class VIII
Applicable State : Odisha
Application Deadline : 31.08.2018
Exam Date : 04.11.2018
Website :

Sponsored Links:
You can now ask your question on this scholarship. Ask here (OR) Go to the bottom of this page for comments.


Applications are invited for State Level National Means-Cum-Merit Scholarship Examination, 2018-19 to be held on 04-11-2018.

Related :
SCERT Odisha NTS/NMMS Check DEO Verification Status 2018-19 :

SCERT Odisha NTSE/NMMS Download Admit Card 2018-19 :

Who Can Apply?

** The candidate must have secured at least 55% marks (relaxable by 5% for reserved category) in Class VII Annual Examination or its equivalent.

** He / she must be studying in Class VIII during the academic session, 2018-2019 in Government / Government Aided (including Block Grant)/ Urban Local Body Schools of the state.

** His / her parental annual income from all sources should not be more than Rs.1,50,000.00 (Rupees One Lakh Fifty Thousand) only.

Note :
The students studying in Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya and Residential Schools under ST and SC Development Department, KGBV etc. where all expenses are paid are not eligible for the scholarship.

How to Apply?

Just follow the below steps to apply for the National Means-Cum-Merit Scholarship Examination 2018-19.

Steps :
Step 1 : Go to the official website of Directorate of Teacher Education & SCERT Odisha through the URL provided above.

Step 2 : Read the instructions carefully and click on the Apply Online button in the right side of the page.

Step 3 : Then Select the Examination Type as National Means-Cum-Merit Scholarship Examination and fill the application form with the following details

** Enter Your Personal Details
** Enter your Postal Address for Correspondence
** Enter the Name and Adress of the Institution in which studying at Class X level

** Select the Type of Institution/School in which studying at Class X level
** Select Your Medium of Examination
** Enter Your Family Details
** Enter Your Contact Details

Step 4 : Enter the Captcha image code and Click on Submit button

Step 5 : After filling up of the Application Form online, he / she is required to take the printout of the same and submit it to the concerned Headmasters.

Step 6 : The Headmaster will forward it to the concerned District Education Officer.

Step 7 : The District Education Officer will allot the Examination Centre, scrutinize and verify all the documents and put the auto generated twelve digit roll number and validate the Online Application Form.

Note :
The Admit Card will be prepared at TE and SCERT which can be downloaded by the Candidate / Institution for appearing the Examination.

Documents Required

A candidate will have to submit the following documents along with the Application Form.

** Caste Certificate, as applicable, for SC / ST / OBC (SEBC) candidate issued by the concerned Tahasildar / Additional Tahasildar.
** Disability Certificate for Physically Handicapped candidates issued by the concerned District Medical Board.

** Parental Income Certificate from the concerned Tahasildar / Additional Tahasildar
** Children of Annapurna / BPL/ New Ration Card/ Antordaya / Mo Kudia Yojana family can produce the supporting document.

Examination Pattern

The NMMS, 2018-2019 will comprise of two papers :
1. Mental Ability Test (MAT) consisting of 90 multiple choice items with four choices on reasoning and critical thinking to be answered in 90 minutes. The questions may be on analogy, classification, numerical series, pattern, perception, hidden figures etc.

2. Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) consisting of 90 multiple choice items with four choices from Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Mathematics, History, Geography, Political Science and Economics to be answered in 90 minutes.

Examination Fees :
The candidates are not required to pay any examination fee. However, they shall have to bear their own expenses for coming and going to Examination Centre to appear the examination.

Selection Procedure

The qualifying mark is 40% in each individual paper of MAT and SAT. For reserved category, this qualifying mark is 32% in each paper. The Merit List will be prepared taking the total marks in both the papers secured by the candidate.

Scholarship Amount

Selected candidates will receive scholarship @ Rs.1000.00 per month for four years i.e. from Class IX to Class XI subject to satisfactory academic progress and continuance in institutions of eligible category.

** The awardees should get clear promotion from Class VIII to Class IX for being eligible for starting the scholarship.
** No scholarship at this stage is payable for studying Diploma / Certificate level Courses.

** For continuing the scholarship in Class X and XII the awardees should get clear promotion from Class IX to Class X and from Class XI to Class XII in the first attempt with 55% marks (relaxable by 5% for reserved category)

** The awardees must obtain a minimum of 60 percent marks in Class X (relaxable by 5% for reserved category) examination or equivalent examination for continuation of the scholarship at higher secondary stage.

Instructions :

Note :
Selected students have to submit their continuance certificate and marksheet of last annual examination in the concerned school every year, by 30th May for renewal of their scholarship. Otherwise they shall be exempted from getting their scholarship

Time Schedule

** Online filling up of Application Forms by the candidates 07.08.2018 to 25.08.2018
** Submission of hard copy of Online Application Form to the Headmasters /Head mistress by the candidates By 31.08.2018

** Submission of countersigned (with seal) hard copies of Application Forms by the Headmasters / Headmistress to the DEOs. By 07.09.2018
** Validation of Application Forms after scrutiny by District Education Officers By 17.09.2018

** Download of Admit Cards by the Candidates After 22.10.2018
** Dispatch of Roll Sheets to the Centres by TE and SCERT By 27.10.2018
** Date of Examination 04.11.2018 (Sunday)

Add a Comment
  1. I got NMMSS in 2015 but got the scholarship cash only in class 9th. Recently I tried to renewal but it shows that my ID 201718006664051is invalid (or) not eligible for renewal. Now I am in class 11th so, how can I get my full scholarship price? Please reply.

  2. Please say, where is this exam going to sit in Balasore?

Leave a Reply

How to add comment : 1) Type your comment below. 2) Type your name. 3) Post comment. © 2018

Contact Us   Privacy Policy